Reviews for Beginner's Guide to Rakes


Library Journal Reviews 2012 June #2

The first entry in Enoch's new "Scandalous Brides" series finds young widow Diane Benchley returning to London and opening an exclusive gentleman's gaming club in the family home. Diane holds a grudge against Oliver, the rakish Marquis of Haybury, for abandoning her in Vienna shortly after her husband's death, so she decides to use blackmail as a means to get his assistance. Oliver is determined to have Diane, so he is willing to comply. This enjoyable story is an unusual twist on the Regency romance, offering a somewhat unlikable heroine. Multi-award-winning narrator Anne Flosnik delivers a terrific performance. VERDICT This will appeal to fans of Christina Dodd, Julia Quinn, and Sabrina Jeffries.--Donna Bachowski, Orange Cty. Lib. Syst., Orlando, FL

[Page 38]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------
Publishers Weekly Reviews 2011 August #2

Enoch (A Matter of Scandal) will have readers tittering behind their fans at this hilarious Regency. Diane Benchley and her husband fled London just ahead of their angry creditors. Years later, Diane returns as a wealthy widow--if appearances can be believed. Diane is passionate, strong-minded, and determined to never be poor again, so she stuns the ton by opening an exclusive gentlemen's gaming club. Most shocked of all is her old flame, Oliver Warren, the marquis of Haybury, especially when Diane blackmails him with a damaging secret to get his help with learning how to run a business. Oliver's attempts to atone for abandoning Diane and win her trust again are simultaneously seductive and heartwarming, and readers will cheer his tender efforts as well as Diane's bold entrepreneurship. (Oct.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2011 PWxyz LLC

----------------------