Reviews for Beginner's Guide to Rakes


Library Journal Reviews 2012 June #2

The first entry in Enoch's new "Scandalous Brides" series finds young widow Diane Benchley returning to London and opening an exclusive gentleman's gaming club in the family home. Diane holds a grudge against Oliver, the rakish Marquis of Haybury, for abandoning her in Vienna shortly after her husband's death, so she decides to use blackmail as a means to get his assistance. Oliver is determined to have Diane, so he is willing to comply. This enjoyable story is an unusual twist on the Regency romance, offering a somewhat unlikable heroine. Multi-award-winning narrator Anne Flosnik delivers a terrific performance. VERDICT This will appeal to fans of Christina Dodd, Julia Quinn, and Sabrina Jeffries.--Donna Bachowski, Orange Cty. Lib. Syst., Orlando, FL

[Page 38]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------