Reviews for 13-Story Treehouse


Booklist Reviews 2013 April #1
In this series starter that will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey, a young author-illustrator pair discover that a single day of life in their gigantic tree house provides enough material for a manuscript to satisfy their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. Episodes involving a giant banana attack, a sea monster masquerading as a mermaid, burp-filled bubblegum bubbles, a threatening gorilla, and 13 ferocious flying cats are described in bites of text plentifully seasoned with Denton's scribbly, busy black-and-white cartoons, which vary from full page to spot to other rascally configurations that spill from the page. The wonderfully random slapstick humor is tailor-made for reluctant readers. Even better, each short chapter stands alone, though the whole story hangs together thanks to repeating motifs. A treat for all with a sequel promised for next year. And guess what? It makes for good tree house reading. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

----------------------
Horn Book Guide Reviews 2013 Fall
Inhabiting an amazing thirteen-story tree house with a bowling alley, shark tank, and underground laboratory, best friends and young authors Andy and Terry use the wild adventures that take place in their dwelling as fodder for their manuscript, which is overdue to their publisher. Comical illustrations pair perfectly with humorous text to make this Australian import a winner.

----------------------
Library Media Connection Reviews 2013 October
Andy and Terry are friends who live in a treehouse that would make any kid jealous. It has a lemonade fountain, an underground laboratory, a see-through swimming pool, and a giant catapult. Naturally, in a treehouse as crazy as this, there is no such thing as a normal day. Andy and Terry, who write books together, have missed the deadline for their latest book. As they try to work, they are interrupted by deliveries of sea monkeys, gorillas, giant burp-filled bubble gum bubbles, marshmallow trampolines, and flying cats. While the adventures seem unrelated, they combine to solve Andy and Terry's problem. The illustrations of the treehouse are detailed and will have readers imagining what their treehouse would look like. The combination of text and illustrations will appeal to those readers who are fans of the Captain Underpants series. This is the first book of the series. Valerie Jankowski, Library Media Specialist, Clearview Elementary, Union, Missouri [Editor's Note: Available in e book format.] RECOMMENDED Copyright 2012 Linworth Publishing, Inc.

----------------------
Publishers Weekly Reviews 2013 February #2

Longtime collaborators Griffiths and Denton (Killer Koalas from Outer Space) get metafictional in their latest book (first published in Australia), and the result is anarchic absurdity at its best. Young buddies Andy and Terry live together in the sort of tree house that kids dream about, complete with bowling alley, shark tank, vines to swing from, and underground laboratory. With so many distractions, is it any wonder that they're late with the book due to their publisher, Mr. Big Nose? "We were a little behind schedule," confides Andy. "Well, when I say ‘a little behind schedule,' I mean a lot behind schedule. And when I say ‘a lot behind schedule,' I mean a LOT LOT LOT behind schedule." It's due tomorrow, but before they can get to work, they have to handle an escaped catnary (a cat turned canary), "burp-gas-filled bubblegum bubbles," and a horde of destructive monkeys. Denton's manic cartooning captures every twist and turn in hilarious detail, as babies are pelted with garbage, yapping dogs squashed, and monkeys catapulted into the distance. A sequel was published last year in Australia and can't arrive soon enough. Ages 8-12. (Apr.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2012 PWxyz LLC

----------------------
School Library Journal Reviews 2013 May

Gr 3-5--Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. In addition to the normal rooms found in a house, it has a theater and library, a bowling alley, and a games room. The boys write and illustrate books, and are far behind on their deadline for their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. They bicker and procrastinate and experience many adventures and misadventures. Wacky stories about flying cats, a monster mermaid, a treehouse full of monkeys, and a banana-seeking giant gorilla will entertain and delight readers. Fun cartoons on every page will engage them and inspire giggles. The situations are described and illustrated so completely that readers will be instantly transported to the fantastic world of the 13-story treehouse. Fans of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid"(Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" series (HarperCollins) will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.--Erica Thorsen Payne, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School, Charlottesville, VA

[Page 111]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------