Reviews for Dead Harvest


Library Journal Reviews 2012 March #2

As a collector of souls, Sam Thornton wanders the world, ensuring that the damned reach their intended destination. When he is ordered to "collect" the soul of a 16-year-old girl found guilty of brutally murdering her family, Sam believes the girl might be innocent. But refusing an order from his superiors is not an option. Soon Sam and Kate, his charge, are on the run, and the mystery of why certain powers want to claim her soul grows deeper and more dangerous with each step. VERDICT Blending urban fantasy with noir mystery, Holm's debut is a dark, moody tale of fallen heroes in the modern world. Fans of Jim Butcher's "Dresden Files" books, Tanya Huff's "Blood" novels, and Larry Correia's "Monster Hunter" series should enjoy discovering a promising new author.

[Page 94]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------
Publishers Weekly Reviews 2012 January #5

A war is brewing between angels and demons in this twisty, fast-paced, and thoroughly enjoyable urban fantasy debut. Sam Thornton is a Collector: he takes souls from the damned and sends them into eternal misery. It should be straightforward to collect the soul of 17-year-old mass murderer Kate MacNeil, but something isn't right; her soul is too pure. Collection of an innocent soul can throw off the balance of good and evil and spark a chain of events that leads to the end of the world, biblical style. Sam's convinced that Kate's been set up, but determining who is behind it is deadly business. With both Heaven and Hell chasing him down, Sam's in a race against time to save Kate and stop Armageddon. Sam is a likable antihero, pleasantly human despite being unquestionably damned, and the politics of Heaven and Hell provide plenty of material for sequels. Agent: Jennifer Jackson, the Donald Maass Agency. (Mar.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2012 PWxyz LLC

----------------------