Reviews for Piper Reed, the Great Gypsy : Library Edition


School Library Journal Reviews 2009 May

Gr 3-5--Piper Reed, a spunky fourth grader, is back with another series of adventures (Holt, 2008) by Kimberly Willis Holt. Pipers dad, a Navy Chief, is called up on active duty for six months, but imaginative Piper finds plenty of ways to keep busy. The excitement of new neighbors, spending Christmas in a spaceship beach house, taking Uncle Leo to school for show-and-tell, and planning and performing in the first ever "Gypsy Club Pet Show" keep the youngster and her sisters occupied. Emily Janice Card does a fabulous job of bringing this dynamic nine-year-old to life. Fans of Piper Reed, Navy Brat (Holt, 2007; Listening Library, 2007) as well as Barbara Park's Junie B. Jones tales and Paula Danziger's stories about Amber Brown will be delighted with this chapter book.--Amy Joslyn, Fairport Public Library, NY

[Page 57]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

----------------------