Reviews for Piper Reed, Navy Brat : Library Edition


AudioFile Reviews 2007 December/January 2008
"Get off the bus!" shouts narrator Emily Janice Card in the voice of 9-year-old middle child Piper Reed. It takes a lot to get Piper down. She's moved across the country, leaving behind the Gypsy Club, whose members joined her in chorusing "Get off the bus!", an expression they mean to spread all over the world. Card voices Piper's optimistic views of the advantages she can gain from having dyslexia, as well as her frustrations with her younger and older sisters. Piper's got a lot of dimension for the heroine of a short audio, and Card shows all of it. We see her spunky determination, upbeat mood when her father leaves on assignment, and the love she has for her family. S.W. (c) AudioFile 2007, Portland, Maine

----------------------
School Library Journal Reviews 2008 February

Gr 3-5 -Having a father in the Navy means nine-year-old Piper Reed and her family have had to move a lot. When the family discovers that their next move is to Pensacola, Florida, Piper makes a list of everything she will miss at her current home in San Diego. On top of this, she and her sisters will be starting a new school in the middle of the year, instead of at the beginning like everyone else. Piper is concerned that, along with her dyslexia, this will only make it harder for her to make friends and fit in. This is the first title (Holt, 2007) in a new series for younger readers by award-winning author Kimberly Willis Holt, who is a former Navy brat herself. Narrated by actress Emily Janice Card, who brings the spunky Piper to life, this delightful story will appeal to fans of Junie B. Jones and Amber Brown. For public and school library collections.-Amy Joslyn, Fairport Public Library, NY

[Page 66]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

----------------------