Reviews for Death Comes to Pemberley


Library Journal Reviews 2012 April #1

British crime staple James shifts gears with her latest novel, a sequel of sorts to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. It is six years after that novel's conclusion, and Darcy and Elizabeth find their tranquil lives unsettled by a murder involving Elizabeth's sister and brother-in-law. Regular James fans may be disappointed that the mystery here is lackluster and not very interesting, but her descriptive powers are as sharp as ever. VERDICT Narrator Rosalyn Landor brings the period to life admirably but is an odd choice considering that the majority of dialog is spoken by the male characters. Of interest to James and Austen fans. ["Nonrabid fans of [Austen and James] will find enjoyment in this heartfelt...valentine from the one writer to the other," read the review of the New York Times best-selling Knopf hc, LJ Xpress Reviews, 12/9/11.--Ed.]--Phillip Oliver, Univ. of North Alabama Lib., Florence

[Page 51]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------
Publishers Weekly Reviews 2012 February #4

James's latest mystery is set in 1803 and picks up where Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice left off: Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet are married and have twin boys. The family lives at Pemberley, an elegant old mansion where they often entertain people of consequence and hold lavish balls. But a murder in the woods on the property interferes with their otherwise idyllic lives and shrouds Pemberley in mystery and fear. Rosalyn Landor turns in an excellent performance, with well-paced narration that captures the posh atmosphere of James's (and Austen's) world. Landor also creates unique voices for the books many characters, modulating her voice for males and lending working-class dialect to servants. Highly recommended for fans of both Austen and James. A Knopf hardcover. (Dec.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2012 PWxyz LLC

----------------------