Reviews for Dualed


School Library Journal Reviews 2013 June

Gr 8 Up--The city of Kersh can be a paradise, but it comes with a high price--you must kill to be there. As a child, you are trained to kill until the day you get your assignment. Everyone has the same mission: you are given the location of your alternate, or doppelganger, and you have a month to fight to the death. West Grayer has already lost two siblings to their Alts and she has finally received her assignment. Much to the chagrin of her best friend and eventual love interest, Chord, West becomes a Striker, a cold blooded contract killer for wealthy Kersh residents who are unwilling or unable to kill their Alts. While the book's premise is intriguing, much of the action is centered on West running aimlessly from her Alt while killing the Alts of other residents. Alicyn Packard authentically portrays West's stony attitude towards her life, especially as she pushes away the people she loves. Occasionally the narration becomes a bit dull, but it does pick up during the fight scenes. While the ending ties up most loose ends, there's a sequel, Divided, due to be published in February 2014. Fans of Veronica Roth's "Divergent" series or Ally Condie's "Matched" trilogy will enjoy Chapman's novel (Random, 2013).--Amanda Schiavulli, Finger Lakes Library System, NY

[Page 56]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------