Reviews for Loki's Wolves


Booklist Reviews 2013 March #2
Norse mythology intrudes on the modern world as Ragnarök (the apocalyptic battle between gods and monsters) approaches, but no gods are left alive to fight for the world's survival. Now their descendants, including three middle-school kids from South Dakota, must challenge the monsters in the final battle. Chosen to represent Thor's clan, 13-year-old Matt joins classmates Fen and Laurie, descendants of Loki. After consulting the Norns and the Valkyries, they search for the other young god counterparts as well as magical weapons. The third-person narrative looks at each main character's strengths and insecurities as they attempt to work together. Comparisons with Rick Riordan's novels based on Greek, Roman, and Egyptian mythology are inevitable, but this series aims at a somewhat younger audience and features characters who are, at least so far, considerably more human than godlike and more anxious than cocky. While setting up the series takes time, there's plenty of action to quicken the pace. The first volume in the Blackwell Pages series will please many fans of mythology-based adventures. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

----------------------
Kirkus Reviews 2013 March #1
The apocalypse is coming, and only the gods can stop it. One problem--the gods are dead. The gods of Norse myth might be dead, but their descendants live, and in Blackwell, S.D., most residents are descendants of either Thor or the trickster god Loki. When Ragnarök, the apocalypse, arrives, 13-year-old Matt Thorsen will be the champion of the gods. He is charged with finding descendants of other gods, forming an alliance and facing off against the monsters of the apocalypse. Unfortunately, the prophecy says that the champions of the gods and the monsters all must die if the world is to be reborn. The narration alternates among the three third-person voices of Matt, Fen, a descendant of Loki, and Laurie, his cousin. It is so methodically constructed that readers will welcome the action Ragnarök will offer. However, this volume is but the debut of a trilogy, and readers will have to await future volumes to tie the tale together. Since Norse myths are not as familiar to most kids as Greek and Roman tales, readers will probably want to check out the series' website, which provides additional information (incomplete at time of review). Norse mythology brought to life with engaging contemporary characters and future volumes that promise explosive action; ideal for Percy Jackson fans who want to branch out. (Fantasy. 8-12) Copyright Kirkus 2013 Kirkus/BPI Communications.All rights reserved.

----------------------
Publishers Weekly Reviews 2013 March #2

Bestselling urban fantasists Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr combine forces to produce a solid fantasy about contemporary descendants of the Norse gods. Thirteen-year-old Matt Thorsen lives in a South Dakota town dominated by Thor's distant family, and he has always been somewhat smug about his superhuman heritage. However, Loki's descendants, including cousins Fen and Laurie Brekke, resent the Thorsens' domination. Then the three learn that Ragnarök is coming and that Matt is to reenact Thor's battle with the Midgard Serpent. Matt, Laurie, and Fen, who is a shape-changer like Loki, seek out other descendants of the gods, aided by the Norns and the Valkyries, but opposed by various werewolves and trolls. Arm-strong and Marr have fun seeding their characters with the strengths and foibles the gods are known for (Fen and Laurie divvy up the best and worst parts of the trickster god Loki). This rousing, fast-paced adventure, first in the Blackwell Pages trilogy, will please readers who loved John Stephens's Books of Beginning and Rick Riordan's modern-day twists on ancient myth. Ages 8-12. Agent: (for Armstrong) Sarah Heller, Helen Heller Agency; (for Marr) Merrilee Heifetz, Writers House. (May)

[Page ]. Copyright 2013 PWxyz LLC

----------------------
School Library Journal Reviews 2013 July

Gr 4-6--Loki's Wolves brings Norse mythology to the modern world. Matt Thorsen, the son of a police officer, lives in the shadow of his older brothers, feeling as if he can never measure up to the expectations of his family. Growing up in a small town in South Dakota surrounded by stories of Norse mythology, Matt knows about the gods, their powers, and Ragnarök, the legend of the end of the world. What he soon finds out is that as a descendant of the Norse god Thor, he has been chosen to stand in as the leader in the final battle. It is up to Matt to convince two troublemaking cousins, Laurie and Fen Brekke, who are descendants of the trickster god Loki, that they must join together and find others who will each bring different skills and abilities and help the three in their the quest to save humans. The characters move from one adventure to another, fighting trolls and unseen forces, with friendships being forged and strengthened as each obstacle is passed. The background and explanation of the legends are clear and a natural fit to the story and dialogue, bringing life to lesser-known Norse mythology. The story moves quickly from the very beginning to the end. The final chapter leaves loose ends, and readers will certainly want the sequel. Recommended for those who enjoyed Rick Riordan's "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series (Hyperion), and younger readers who have not yet been introduced to contemporary adaptations of mythology.--Denise Moore, O'Gorman Junior High School, Sioux Falls, SD

[Page 76]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------