Reviews for American Tune


Booklist Reviews 2012 October #1
Nora Quillen spends her days contentedly helping with her husband's veterinary practice and enjoying the beauty of the small town they call home. While helping her daughter prepare for college, though, she is brought face-to-face with, first, an old name and, then, an old love, remnants of a former life she has been hiding since one fateful night during the anti-Vietnam War movement almost 30 years ago. Unable to deny her past any longer, she is forced to look inside herself and make decisions that will inevitably alter the lives of everyone she loves. Shoup takes readers alternately to Indiana University during the 1960s antiwar movement and to northern Michigan at the beginning of the Iraq War, addressing the moral dilemmas of each while exploring Nora's feelings of guilt and helplessness. Fans of Jeffrey Eugenides or Tatiana de Rosnay will appreciate her ability to capture the spirit of a time and place while asking serious social questions. However politically minded, though, this poignant and stirring novel is at its root a moving and passionate love story. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

----------------------
ForeWord Magazine Reviews 2013 - Winter Issue

Some writers have a gift for creating cozy scenes and comfortable locales despite a larger context of unease and violence. In her new novel An American Tune, Barbara Shoup accomplishes this: meticulously establishing pleasant, comfortable settings of seemingly well-lived lives, then undercutting them with the creeping shadow of a very messy reality. In this case it's the Vietnam war.



The story begins with in the early 2000s with 50-something Nora Quillen revisiting her alma mater in the Midwest. Nora's daughter is slated to startt here in just a few days despite Nora's initial protests. We soon discover two things: that something awful once happened to Nora there, and that Nora is not her real name at all.



Back we go in time then to 1965. Young Jane is starting college herself, just a normal girl from a blue-collar family. Her college experience is banal but richly drawn by Shoup: She finds a friend (the off-kilter Bridget); she gets a boyfriend; she grows apart from her family; her classes challenge her. Yet in the background, slowly working its way into Jane's consciousness, is the Vietnam war and those who protest it. Jane seems to want only a small life, one without violence or tumult. Indeed, she wants the quiet moments of beauty that Shoup draws so well for us.



As her lifestyle clashes with those of her protester friends, she poses the question, "What's so wrong with being happy?" Yet she is highly sensitive to the wrongness all around her. After college she begins to question her own, passive existence as a teacher and that of her little students, "All she could think was that most of them would spend their whole lives this way: well-behaved, in line, doing what they were supposed to do."



Then, that lifestyle is destroyed anyway in a single bomb blast by those same friends. Such is the central conflict of the novel as it leaps forward to present day: whether Jane/Nora will be able to continue drifting through her life as she did for so long--marrying the wrong guy because it was easy, forgetting the past--now that she is awakened to reality in her later years.



A novel poised between Jane's past and Nora's present, An American Tune is a walk through a historic period that is beautifully rendered. Bit by bit, the war and its effect on the national identity insinuates itself into the characters lives, reminding the contemporary reader-- whether young adult or adult--that no war, and no life, is isolated.



Shoup has authored six novels and coauthored two books about the creative process. Her novels Wish You Were Here and Stranded in Harmony were selected as American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults.


2012 ForeWord Reviews. All Rights Reserved.

----------------------
Library Journal Reviews 2012 August #1

Jane, from a working-class family, attends Indiana University in the mid-1960s. On her first day she is befriended by manic Bridget, who takes Jane's social life in hand. Through Bridget she meets Tom, who rapidly becomes the love of Jane's life. We see Bridget and Jane evolve in the narrative arc of the Sixties, as they transition from Villager outfits and drunken frat parties to ragged jeans and antiwar demonstrations. Bridget joins an SDS-like group and involves Jane in a deadly campus bombing. Jane is forced to go underground, and with a new identity and name, Jane--now Nora--settles in northern Michigan, marries and has a daughter. She manages to keep her past buried for years until her daughter enrolls in Indiana University. VERDICT Shoup's novel is most compelling in its historical portrayal of university life in the turbulent 1960s; ultimately, though, this is a romance novel, where relationships are a little too perfect and decades-long deceptions are resolved through love.--Reba Leiding, James Madison Univ. Libs., Harrisonburg, VA

[Page 89]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------