Reviews for Move Over, Rover


Booklist Reviews 2006 August #2
Fully painted to the edge of the large pages, Dyer's watercolor-and-acrylic illustrations are very casual yet cozy. They effectively accompany Beaumont's take on a familiar motif: generosity can lead to overcrowding. Gentle, obliging Rover allows, first, Cat, and then a succession of other animals to seek shelter from a rainstorm in his doghouse. The crowding increases until Skunk's arrival forces an evacuation--just as the storm is ending. Brief text with a rhymed refrain ("Move over, Rover!") encourages children to join in as the story progresses to the finale--when Rover is finally alone, savoring the fact that his house is once again his own. Adults may want to use this with Jan Brett's ^IThe Mitten^R (1989) and Margot Zemach's ^IIt Could Always Be Worse ^R(1976) to help children explore the idea of variation on a theme. ((Reviewed September 1, 2006)) Copyright 2006 Booklist Reviews

----------------------
Horn Book Guide Reviews 2007 Spring
When a rainstorm hits, a cat, a raccoon, and various other animals squeeze into Rover's doghouse. Just as everyone gets settled, they catch a whiff of something smelly. Careful study of the rainy watercolor illustrations reveals a skunk that has slipped into the doghouse. The playful rhythm and rhyme make this cumulative tale a satisfying read-aloud. Copyright 2007 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

----------------------
Kirkus Reviews 2006 August #1
In this cumulative tale in the tradition of The Mitten and Mushroom in the Rain, a fluffy, friendly dog named Rover makes room in his doghouse for a succession of animals seeking shelter from a thunderstorm. The short, patterned text uses rhyming couplets and a cumulative refrain urging each animal in turn to squeeze into the crowded doghouse. The final arrival-a skunk-disperses the crowd, and Rover returns to his home to enjoy his solitude with all the other animals camouflaged within the surrounding scene in the final spread. Dyer's watercolors are as charming as always, drawing the reader into the action with varying perspectives to show the expanding group. She uses subtle streaks of gray and white to indicate the driving rain and just a barely opened eye to show that the sleeping animals are aware of each new addition to their refuge. The bouncy rhymes and expressive paintings complement each other well, melding into a simple but satisfying story that will fit into story hours with themes of rain, dogs, or sharing. (Picture book. 3-6) Copyright Kirkus 2006 Kirkus/BPI Communications.All rights reserved.

----------------------
School Library Journal Review 2006 September

K-Gr 1 Reminiscent of Mirra Ginsburg’s Mushroom in the Rain (S & S, 1987) and Audrey Wood’s The Napping House (Harcourt, 1984), this is the cumulative story of many animals all attempting to shelter from the rain in a doghouse. Children will love the hilarious ending when all of the inhabitants hastily vacate after an odiferous intruder tries to squeeze in, too. The marvelously textured watercolor-and-acrylic illustrations convey the feeling of a driving rain, the fur and feathers of the various creatures, and the joy of Rover when his house is once again his sole domain. The repetition of key phrases, the rhythmic text, and the cumulative structure of the narrative make this book an ideal read-aloud. The pictures and text evoke the cozy, warm feeling of curling up for a nap on a rainy day and the unbridled thrill of leaping out into the sun.Tamara E. Richman, Somerset County Library System, Bridgewater, NJ

[Page 159]. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

----------------------