Reviews for Cinderella Smith


Booklist Reviews 2011 April #1
*Starred Review* Josephine-Kathryn "Cinderella" Smith is filled with apprehension over the new school year and the changing relationships among her friends, some of whom went to dance camp over the summer and now seem to be excluding her. Her mother buys Cinderella ruby-red tap shoes, but true to her nickname, she quickly loses one, and as a result, her role as the Pumpkin Blossom Fairy in the dance recital is in jeopardy. Complicating matters is new girl Erin, who needs advice on dealing with her wicked stepsisters, but since Cinderella's sister, Tess, is sweet, can she really help? Each chapter is cleverly titled after a pair of shoes ("White Mary Janes with Little Heels," "Gladiator Sandals"), and line illustrations by the gifted Goode enhance the lightheartedness and fun of the story. Grounded in the details of a modern-day tween's life, Barden's debut is poignant in its portrayal of a young girl on the threshold of growing up and becoming her own person. The awkwardness Cinderella feels with her former friends is palpable yet not overly serious, and her inclusive enjoyment of life is contagious. The resolution to the stepsister problem is especially satisfying, and although the humor is in the vein of Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody, Barden has nonetheless created her own character in Cinderella. Copyright 2011 Booklist Reviews.

----------------------
Horn Book Guide Reviews 2011 Fall
Jacqueline-Kathryn "Cinderella" Smith helps new girl Erin investigate her stepsisters to see if they re wicked. Shoe-losing Cinderella is also looking for her special ruby-red tap shoe for her dance recital. Cinderella's bouncy energy, captured expertly in Goode's emotive line drawings, is infectious; readers will delight in her expressions (e.g., dribbly-spit for Seattle drizzle) and enthusiastic use of adverbs ("very, extremely mad"). Copyright 2011 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

----------------------
Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2011 #3
No, Jacqueline-Kathryn "Cinderella" Smith does not sleep by an ashy fireplace. Nor does she have an evil stepmother, just "a regular kind of mom who is usually nice but kind of strict." However, Cinderella does lose shoes -- so often that she has to write her name and address on each one. Now she can't find a special ruby-red tap shoe, which she needs to play the Pumpkin Blossom Fairy in her dance recital. Alas ("something I say when I'm a little bit frustrated and a little bit sad"), she has an even bigger problem: new girl Erin, assuming Cinderella got her nickname for a different reason, asks Cinderella's help in investigating her newly acquired stepsisters to see if they are wicked. Cinderella's bouncy energy, captured expertly in Goode's emotive line drawings, is infectious; readers will delight in her expressions (e.g., dribbly-spit for Seattle drizzle) and enthusiastic use of adverbs ("very, extremely mad"). Her energy could be grating, but Barden gently pokes fun at her protagonist; Cinderella knows, for example, that when her mom's eyebrow goes up, it's "mostly a very bad sign." Once the last shoe is found and the last page turned, it's hard to leave Cinderella behind. Alas. rachel smith Copyright 2011 Horn Book Magazine Reviews.

----------------------
Kirkus Reviews 2011 March #1
Cinderella Smith cannot keep track of her shoes. It doesn't seem to matter the type or the brand—she is always searching for missing footwear. The new school year has meant another loss too. Former pals Rosemary W. and Rosemary T. have become such close friends that they have squeezed Cinderella out of their tight friendship. The Rosemarys took summer dance class together, got their ears pierced, discovered boys and cell phones and are on their way to becoming the manipulative mean girls of their class. It looks like old friend and neighbor Charlie Prince might be Cinderella's only buddy. Enter Erin, the new confident girl in the class. She needs Cinderella's help figuring out her new stepfamily, and she instantly and correctly sizes up the Rosemarys. Together, these new friends figure out the mystery of stepsisters, missing shoes and the joys of tap dancing. Cinderella has a penchant for acting without thinking, causing her mother to arch her eyebrow in disappointment and judgment. Endearingly, though, Cinderella always tries to do the right thing. Though the first-person narration sounds a little too close to the voice of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine, the richness of this new friendship and the gentle resolution will make readers hope for another installment. (Fiction. 8-11) Copyright Kirkus 2011 Kirkus/BPI Communications.All rights reserved.

----------------------
Publishers Weekly Reviews 2011 March #1

In a clever slice-of-life novel, first-time author Barden humorously depicts the woes of Josephine-Kathryn ("Cinderella") Smith, a girl who got her nickname not because she sleeps by an "ashy fireplace" or has an evil stepmother ("She's just a regular kind of mom who is usually nice but kind of strict"). Rather, it's because she has trouble keeping track of her shoes: Cinderella has lost countless number of them. Her immediate concern is finding the mate to her "shiny, ruby red" tap shoe, so she can perform a solo in the upcoming dance recital. Her nemesis, snooty Rosemary T., doesn't make the situation any better by offering Cinderella her "big, old, brown tap shoes," but Cinderella has a new best friend, Erin, who offers support and distracts Cinderella from her problems by asking for advice on wicked stepsisters, two of which she'll be stuck with after her mother's wedding. Relatable situations paired with rising suspense from the missing shoe mystery provide a brand of entertainment likely to please even reluctant readers. Goode's fluid spot illustrations add to the fun. Ages 8-12. (May)

[Page ]. Copyright 2010 PWxyz LLC

----------------------
School Library Journal Reviews 2011 July

Gr 3-5--Josephine-Kathryn Smith just can't seem to keep track of her shoes, earning her the nickname "Cinderella." Most of the time her propensity to lose footwear is just an annoyance, but it's a different story when she misplaces one of her new ruby-red tap shoes--they are a necessity if she wants to keep the hard-earned role of Pumpkin Blossom Fairy in the autumn dance recital. On top of that, Cinderella is dealing with some social drama. Her usual group of friends, led by bossy Rosemary T., seems to forget about her when cool, new Erin dazzles everyone in their class. Instead of being roped in by Rosemary T., though, Erin gravitates toward Cinderella. Their close camaraderie sends Rosemary T. through the roof, and her jealous reaction may give readers a clue as to the whereabouts of the wayward tap shoe. The light drama gives readers a nonthreatening environment in which to explore how to deal with friendship difficulties, and they will root for the likable Cinderella from start to finish. Loose, cheerful line drawings pepper the pages, adding to the overall upbeat feel of the book. This is a competently told, solid choice for libraries that are looking to expand their selection of contemporary realistic fiction, but it doesn't stand out among the growing clutch of books about spunky girls with unusual names.--Amy Holland, Irondequoit Public Library, NY

[Page 58]. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

----------------------