Annotations for Not Exactly a Love Story


Baker & Taylor
After his parents divorce, high school junior Vinnie Gold moves to Long Island with his mother and new stepfather and must negotiate a secret crush and a rather complicated connection with the popular girl next door.

----------------------
Baker & Taylor
Struggling with a bad case of acne, his girlfriend's abrupt relocation and his parents' recent divorce, 15-year-old Vinnie moves with his mother to Long Island, where he falls in love with girl-next-door Patsy and engages in a sequence of anonymous phone calls through which the two forge a deep bond. By the Newbery Honor-winning author of Getting Near to Baby.

----------------------
Random House, Inc.
"A fifteen-year-old creates an alter ego to woo his dream girl. Compulsively readable." --The New York Times

This quirky, flirty, and smart story will appeal to fans of Frank Portman's King Dork, John Green's An Abundance of Katherines, and Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor and Park. It's not exactly a love story . . . but it's pretty close.

It's 1977. Fifteen-year-old Vinnie is recovering from the worst case of acne his dermatologist's ever seen. His girl moved to California without saying good-bye. And the ink on his parents' divorce papers is barely dry when his mom announces they're moving from Queens to Long Island. The silver lining? Moving next door to Patsy, everyone's dream girl. Not that she'd ever notice him. But when Vinnie calls Patsy one night, it leads to a chain of anonymous midnight conversations, and the two develop a surprisingly strong connection despite the lies it's built on. But as Vinnie gets to know Patsy in real life, it's clear that both identities can't survive. . . .

----------------------